Copyright (c) 2004 Aramco Services Company. All Rights Reserv

Américas Book Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature


The Américas Award is given in recognition of U.S. works of fiction, poetry, folklore, or selected non-fiction (from picture books to works for young adults) published in the previous year in English or Spanish that authentically and engagingly portray Latin America, the Caribbean, or Latinos in the United States. By combining both and linking the Americas, the award reaches beyond geographic borders, as well as multicultural-international boundaries, focusing instead upon cultural heritages within the hemisphere. The award is sponsored by the national Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs (CLASP).

The award winners and commended titles are selected for their 1) distinctive literary quality; 2) cultural contextualization; 3) exceptional integration of text, illustration and design; and 4) potential for classroom use.

Américas Book Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature



Online Curriculum:

Barrio: José’s Neighborhood (1998) Américas Award

Before We Were Free (2002) Américas Award

Behind the Mountains (2001) Américas Honorable Mention

Breaking Through (2001) Américas Award

The Circuit (1997) Américas Award

The Color of My Words (2000) Américas Award

The Composition (2000) Américas Award

Crashboomlove (1999) Américas Award

The Face at the Window (1997) Américas Award

Frida (2002) Américas Honorable Mention

Harvesting Hope: The Story of Cesar Chavez (2003) Américas Honorable Mention



In My Family/En Mi Familia (1996) Américas Award

Just a Minute: A Trickster Tale and Counting Book (2003) Américas Award

Mama & Papa Have a Store (1998) Américas Award

The Meaning of Consuelo (2003) Américas Honorable Mention

The Mermaid's Twin Sister (1994) Américas Award

A Movie in My Pillow/Una película en mi almohada (2001) Américas Award

My Name is Celia: The Life of Celia Cruz/Me llamo Celia: La Vida de Celia Cruz (2004) Américas Award

Parrot in the Oven (1996) Américas Award

Sammy & Juliana in Hollywood (2004) Américas Award

Tonight, By Sea (1995) Américas Award

Vejigante Masquerader (1993) Américas Award







Copyright (c) 2004 Aramco Services Company. All Rights Reserved

Copyright (c) 200Company. All Rights Res